Holmes, Watson, and Missing the Obvious

tent

Holmes and Watson are on a camping trip and pitch their tent under the stars.

In the middle of the night Holmes wakes up and gives Dr. Watson a nudge. “Watson” he says, “look up in the sky and tell me what you see.”
“I see millions of stars, Holmes,” says Watson.

“And what do you conclude from that, Watson?”

Watson thinks for a moment. “Well,” he says, “astronomically, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets. Astrologically, I observe that Saturn is in Leo. Horologically, I deduce that the time is approximately a quarter past three. Meteorologically, I suspect that we will have a beautiful day tomorrow. Uh, what does it tell you, Holmes?”

Holmes replies: “Watson, you idiot. Somebody stole our tent!”

I really like this as a joke…BUT also because in it are some good applications for the Christian faith.

You see, Watson went on and on about all of these particular things he observed (passing himself off as seemingly quite intelligent),

but he COMPLETELY missed the most obvious conclusion.

He “saw” all of these stars and planets, but it didn’t occur to him WHY he was able to see them.

He missed the REALITY behind the reality.

Sometimes we look way too hard for truths that are literally right in front of our faces.

The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork (Ps. 19:1)(ESV).

“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.” ~ C. S. Lewis

One thought on “Holmes, Watson, and Missing the Obvious

Leave a Reply

