Not good enough? Me, either.

You-may-not-think-that-youre

Not Good Enough? Me either.

Some people look at the Gospel and they have trouble seeing how it could possibly apply to them.

They think something like, “I’ve done too many bad things for God to love me” or “I’m just not good enough.”

My response to these folks is “Me, too.”

Me, too. I’m not good enough for God, either. I don’t deserve his love at all. I have rebelled against him. I’ve turned my back on him. I’ve chased the pleasures of this world around me…

But you know what?

So has everyone else. The Bible explains to us that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Rom. 3:23).

Not one of us deserves God’s love.

Not one of deserves to be forgiven.

And we can’t possibly earn his love and forgiveness by anything we do, because we have already failed him. Once you sin against the perfect God who requires absolute perfection, you bring his judgment against you.

However, even though I can’t earn God’s love and even though I don’t deserve to be forgiven, He didn’t give up on me as He would have had every right to do.

No, He showed his love for me in that, while I was still a sinner, Jesus died for me (Rom 5:8).

He did that for me by his grace alone. Not by anything I did or earned.

The Bible says “for by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not your own doing. It is the gift of God” (Eph. 2:8).

Once again, God saved me through his grace and his grace alone.

Knowing that I could never be declared not guilty of my sin against him, He sent his Son to take the burden of my sin upon his shoulders all the way to the cross. He lived the perfectly sinless life that I could never lead and was then in a position to carry my burden on his own back.

His death paid the price for my sin and for yours for all eternity, if we only repent and have faith in him.

This is what the Bible says about the path to salvation; to reconciliation with our Creator:

“because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10 For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. 11 For the Scripture says, “Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame” (Rom. 10:9-11)

and “For everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved” (Rom. 10:13).

So my question to you who might be saying to yourself, “I’m not good enough” and “I’ve done too many bad things to be forgiven” is this:

Who do you think “everyone” includes?

Is it just the ones who are only a little bad?

Is it just the ones who ask really nicely?

No. When God says everyone, the translation is: (see below)

EVERYONE

Let me tell you something. God doesn’t lie.

He said that you can be forgiven and have new life in Christ by confessing and turning away from your sin, and by accepting and proclaiming Jesus as your Lord and Savior.

Everyone includes you. I don’t care what you’ve done. Just one sin separates us eternally from God. One sin! So everyone is in the same boat without Jesus and his work on the cross.

That means that we all have to take the same path to be forgiven and redeemed, set free from slavery to sin and raised to walk in newness of life in Christ.

Won’t you answer Jesus’ call? He loves you and wants you to come home.

Leave a Reply

