My Grace is Sufficient

Recently, I decided that I wanted to start really concentrating on memorizing key verses and passages of Scripture that I felt were important to be able to recall quickly in conversation, if the need arose. Don’t you ever come away from conversations with people sometimes and think

 

“Wow, I wish I would have remembered this or that Word from God that I could have shared with them. It would have been just what they needed to hear!”

 

Well, I do. So anyway, I found a great smartphone app called Fighterverse and have started using it regularly. The great thing about this app is that it can be manipulated in various ways to match an individual person’s learning style. You can follow a app-generated study plan, develop your own plan, add verses whenever you like, and really just set it up to work for you. However, this is not a plug to go out and get Fighterverse, as much as I enjoy it. I just wanted to tell you that I’ve learned through memorizing passages of Scripture, that I actually often start looking more closely at them.

 

Sometimes, when I’m reading these same verses in my normal Bible study, I tend to miss the enormity of what is said. So by memorizing them in this manner, it has not only helped me to commit them to memory (as best I can as a 40-something Opa), but it has also taken me deeper into these verses to think about what God is saying through them and how they relate to the greater context of his Word.

 

As an example, one of the first 50 verses I added to study for this year was 2 Corinthians 12:9 (ESV), which says “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

 

Now, I just want to concentrate on the first part of this verse for this post.

 

Whatever weakness to which Paul had been referring just prior to this verse, he tells the Corinthians that he wanted it taken away. He really, really, wanted it taken away. So he pleaded with God that He would remove it. He strenuously pleaded.

 

God said no. Well, okay, he said a little more than that. He actually said a lot more than that.

 

He said, No, I’m not going to take the weakness away. Human weaknesses have a much greater purpose in my plan than you can ever understand. Among other things, though, they remind you that you need me. They remind you that you can do nothing without me.

They remind you that my grace draws you to me; that my grace sustains you; that my grace will deliver you.

 

They remind you that my grace is sufficient for you.

 

We can probably all think of a weakness or two (or a lot) that we would rather do without, much like Paul. But what God told Paul is true for all of us. In turning to Christ in our weakness, we rightly rest upon his unfailing strength to carry us through and this shows forth his unending glory. His power IS made perfect in our weakness.

Leave a Reply

