Let’s Just Play the Background

I recently connected with a friend of mine with whom I hadn’t talked in some time. When I got this blog started up and a few posts under my belt, I decided to reach out to an audience of friends that I felt might be interested in reading and responding to the type of material I planned to write. So with that, I sent out some messages to different folks, one of whom was the friend I mentioned above.

When I heard back from her, I just couldn’t help but break out in a big smile and thank God once again for reminding me who He is and how He works. You see, she wrote back about the timeliness (who me? timely??) of my message requesting her to check out my Christian blog and to pray that God would guide my path in this effort. She had just recently had some problems within her family and had herself been praying for God’s guidance and support.

Once I learned of the issue, I joined her in praying for God to bring healing to the family and to bring glory to himself in this situation. Next thing we know, my friend is witnessing her father taking the completely uncharacteristic step of coming to her brother to ask for forgiveness. She said that this was only the second time in her entire life that she had ever seen her father crying, the other being at the funeral of his mother.

What brings a heart to change? How do we explain how a man who has never been one to show emotion suddenly break down in the realization of the wrong he has committed and seek to make things right? These things don’t happen absent the work of God in the person’s life. It is only through him that truth is revealed and our innate selfishness is defeated so that his glory may shine through. He has proven time and again both his desire and ability to change hearts and lives. And what a tremendous change this was!

How did God accomplish this particular breakthrough? He chose once again to involve mere humans in his plans. I had no idea what was going on in my friend’s life when I sent that message to her soliciting her prayers and support. God, however, knew exactly what was going to happen as my friend and I both prayed separate prayers to him; she for restoration within her family and I for guidance in starting the blog ministry. He was already at work before we ever came into the picture. In order for her and me to play our background roles, we needed only to submit to his will and allow the Spirit to move in our lives. From there, the story that has played out thousands of time over the course of history played out once more.

Thank you, God, for hearing and answering our prayers and for allowing us to participate in your plans to transform lives!

Two quick things I learned (okay, more like re-learned) from this story:

1.       God is ALWAYS at work, whether we realize it or not. There is a song that talks about letting God take the lead role and us playing the background. He doesn’t necessarily need us to know where He is taking us. He wants us to just submit to him and let him play his proper role (aka “the lead”) within us. He wants willingness for us to pray for his guidance and his will to be carried out in our lives. Pray and listen.

2.       God created us to have rich relationships with both him and others. If you are dealing with something in your life, don’t forget that there are other brothers and sisters in Christ who are there to join you in prayer. The power of prayer is remarkable as is the power of fellowship with other believers.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Just Play the Background

  1. A old preacher told me once sometimes you just know in your knower. When God places a person on your heart in the words of Henry Blackaby “that is your invitation to join him in his work” To often we are not looking for God so we miss his work and His subtle promptings. If i am looking for God he will show me what He is up to. What a joy He invites to participate in His divine glory in Jesus Christ.

  2. So glad I always know I can count on you to be praying for me, Dad. Sometimes things happen and I just think, this is not coincidence- this is God and I think back to those occasions during the times when I feel like things aren’t quite the way I thought they should be. I know he’s guiding me! Sometimes I just need to be reminded that its HIS path.

    • It is a little overwhelming when you start thinking about what it means that God is in complete control; that He has unimaginably elaborate plans and works things out in ways that we could never even begin to imagine; that Jesus died for you and me while we were yet sinners; that things which happened 100 or even 1000 years ago are all part of God’s plan that included electing you and showering you with his grace. Like you said, we just need to keep in mind that He is in control and that “in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Leave a Reply

