A Lesson from the Soccer Field

I was watching my youngest son’s team (the Razorbacks, by the way.  Woo Pig Sooie!!) play soccer this past weekend. During the course of the game, one of the kids fell down on the way toward scoring a goal. As the game moved beyond him while he lay there on the ground, a teammate stopped to see that he was okay and gave him a hand in getting to his feet.

It made me think about how often I don’t do that; how often I don’t stop when I might otherwise notice someone who needs a hand; more to the point, how I don’t glorify God. On the path to whatever “goal” I am pursuing at any given time, I often focus too much on where I think I need to be to “score” my next point in this life only to neglect Jesus’ commandment to love my neighbor.

We were made in the image of God (imago Dei) and our lives should reflect God’s glory. Everything we do, Paul tells us in 1 Cor. 10:31, we should do for the glory of God.  In every action we take, we have the opportunity to either glorify God or not to glorify him. If you are like me, you need a regular reminder that we aren’t here to achieve our own selfish goals. We are immortal beings with a higher purpose.

We exist for God. Fulfilling our purpose means that we live our lives in him and through him. As a result, God is glorified through us as we glorify him. Additionally, since this is our reason for existence, it is in this type of life and this only where we find ultimate joy, peace, and fulfillment.

I pray that we would slow down more often and ask that God help us to glorify him in our lives, that we would seek out those who need our help rather than dash past them with our eyes fixed elsewhere. Lord, give us the eyes of Jesus. May the Holy Spirit guide our decisions such that we would pause to help the teammate on the soccer field, the colleague at work, the homeless woman on D Street…May we glorify You in everything we do.

So, all this talk about glorifying God may have you asking, “So just what does that actually mean?” “How can I apply this otherwise ‘bumper sticker’ Christian saying in my day-to-day life?” I have included a link below to a good blog article on the topic that is well worth your time and consideration. In a nutshell, though, ask yourself these questions in any applicable situation:

1)   Do my attitudes reflect God’s priorities or my own.

2)   Are my actions more likely to enhance my own reputation or God’s.

3)   Do my conversations build up others or does “corrupting talk” (Eph 4:29) come out of my mouth. 

“What does it mean to glorify God? By Eric Bargerhuff, available at

http://ericbargerhuff.blogspot.com/2008/06/what-does-it-mean-to-glorify-god-part-2.html

10 thoughts on “A Lesson from the Soccer Field

  1. Good message, Dad! I need to keep this in mind, too. Sometimes I get a little too caught up in ME. Love you. Also, GO RAZORBACKS!

  2. I happened to be reading the story posted about the smell of Jesus.The lord taught me similary about the sickly weak lambs are the ones he carries.They need extra help they dont have strength to stand alone so he scoops them up in his arms.They can be dirty or clean but when they are confused weak and ill and crippled he will not turn them away.Some times it seems they never change but neither does Christ Love for them,he often teaches us how to endure the suffering with them in an odd sort of way.It does not mean we become unhealthy to do this,Christ did not become sickly or confused but he still carries them as long as it takes to get them home to safety

    • Very wise words, Jeannie. Thank you for passing this teaching on. Jesus is such a wonderful (perfect) example who we can always look to for guidance in our Christian walk.

  3. thanks for replying.I was thinking as i read the soccer story and your reflections how this is when we do get to soak Gods Grace up at times when we miss the mark so badly and had out for the gold cup.He really understands the human race and will give pleny more times when our choices tempered by our experince will bring us into a diffrent choice.I am sure i am on number 1thousand niety nine and that is just this yearTee Hee Grace is in abundance so we can going forward even in the things me miss or fall short.I am so glad the Holy Spirit IS EVER MOVING FORWARD AND DOES NOT BACK UP.Jeannie

  4. I’m right there with you, Jeannie. Thank God for second (and third, and fourth, etc.) chances! “He’s still workin’ on me, to make me what I ought to be…”

Leave a Reply

