My Secret to Productivity

My Secret to Productivity

This is a link to an article on Frank Viola’s Beyond Evangelical blog. I like his recommendation for increasing one’s personal productivity. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of the lessons I learned as a brand new sailor aboard my first submarine, USS TREPANG (SSN 674). My Chief at the time had this method of writing out all of his upcoming tasks with a check box beside each one. Then he would rewrite the list each day, bringing forward what didn’t get completed and adding any new tasks. It seemed like a good idea to me and I have been using it ever since, adding my own personal tweaks along the way.

Part of why this works, I think, is because it involves having to think about and prioritize what needs to be accomplished, which is easy enough to just shrug off without a little concerted effort (at least for me). Another reason it works is because people love check boxes. I mean, come on, doesn’t everyone enjoy the sense of accomplishment when putting that check in the box?

Any alternative or additional recommendations for making efficient use of our day?

4 thoughts on “My Secret to Productivity

  1. I have enjoyed a great deal of personal satisfaction checking off a box each time i finish a run on my hal higdon app for marathon training. It keeps me focused and has helped me establish the discipline of training.

  2. You were obviously on the second trepang. Did some historical research this morning. The First trepang was sunk by naval gunfire in 1969.(target practice) the second according to wikipedia was commisoned in 1970.(were theretwo?)

Leave a Reply

